Blog

Emerging Metanarratives and Transformation

Posted by Steve Waddell in Net Dev on May 31, 2017

Transformation involves the creation of dominant new orientations, structures, and ways of global understanding. A core part of this is developing new visions and narratives about the way the world does/should work. “Sustainable development” is part of this, but much more must be done to create the new meta-narrative to carry us through the epochal transition that is currently underway. This webinar brings together some people who are working on this process.

Friday, June 9

9am ET/15:00 CET/18:30 India

1)    Hunter Lovins, Convener – Leading for Wellbeing (L4WB); President, Natural Capitalism Solutions: L4WB is developing a new narrative, which combines the science of who we are as humans with how we can organize, inspire people, drive change, shift corporate behavior, and change capital flows.

2)    Rajiv Joshi – Director, B-Team: The B-Team is a radical business network. It has been in dialogue with many people during an eight-month investigation into how the B-Team can support the emergence of a new narrative, with particular respect to business.

3)    Allen White, Vice President and Senior Fellow, Tellus Institute; Co-Editor, Great Transition Initiative journal (www.greattransition.org: GTI). The GTI represents a quarter century of work developing a new narrative with an online forum of ideas and an international network for the critical exploration of concepts, strategies, and visions for a transition to a future of enriched lives, human solidarity, and a resilient biosphere.

Register here.

This Webinar is organized by the SDG Transformation Forum, hosted by Future Earth, and supported by the Future Earth Transformation Knowledge Action Network, Transformations2017, and Geneva2030.

  • Browse the Archive

  • Subscribe via RSS or email

    Click here to subscribe to our RSS feed, or receive our blog posts by email.